Founded on October 3, 1880, the city of Brazzaville was established as an autonomous municipality of Middle Congo (Official Journal 1912, p.9).

From 1911 to 1957, colonial administrators, including a mayor assisted by a municipal commission, managed the Brazzaville city hall. The Municipal Commission is comprised of four members selected by notable French citizens, officials or residents of the city:

The Municipal Commission further includes administrator and mayor four (4) members chosen by the French notable, official or non-resident of the City. The Commission operated as follows:

  • The Municipal Board was appointed for two (2) years;
  • The functions of the members of the municipal commission were free;
  • The Municipal Commission assembled in ordinary session two (2) times per year. It deliberated on city affairs.

As of November 18, 1958, the Municipality of Brazzaville has become a full-Commune, headed by a Municipal Council selected through popular elections that began that year.

The first mayor elected as president of the Municipal Council was Fulbert YOULOU. It was in 1956, a member of government and from 1956 to 1959, he served as Congo’s Minister of Agriculture. He was president of the Republic of Congo from 1960 to 1963. From 1956 to 1963, Brazzaville had the following mayors:

  • Dominique NZALAKANDA: from 1956 to 1959;
  • Simon Bilombo: from 1959 to 1961;
  • Joseph SENSO: from 1961 to 1963.

The overthrow of President Fulbert YOULOU, Mayor of Brazzaville, during the “three Glorious days,” August 13, 14 and 15 meant that the City Hall was administered by a special delegation with a temporary mayor:

  • Jean MAMIMOUE: 1963 to 1965.

The use of a special delegation will continue for a number of years with the appointment of a new mayor:

  • Hervé Joseph MAYORDOME: 1965 to 1969.

Commander Marien NGOUABI accession to power introduced a one-party system and the organization of local elections.

The Mayor of Brazzaville was then headed administratively by a President selected in a popular vote, including the following:

  • Lambert NGALIBALI: from 1969 to 1974;
  • Pascal Okemba Morlende: from 1974 to 1979.
  • Hervé Joseph MAYORDOME of 1965-1969.

The special delegation will again reappear with the coming to power and to the highest office of the Party Military Committee:

  • Louis ZATONGA was appointed to head the Mayor of Brazzaville, President of the Special Delegation: from 1977 to 1979;
  • Obami ITOU in 1979, its functions will have time for a few days.

The coming to power of the movement of February 5, 1979 headed by President Denis Sassou Nguesso will again revive Popular elections at the regional and municipality levels. The Brazzaville Mayor will wear the title of Political Commissar:

  • Gabriel EMOUENGUE, Policy Commissioner, Deputy Mayor of Brazzaville: from 1979 to 1984;
  • Jean Jules OKABANDO, Policy Commissioner, Deputy Mayor of Brazzaville: from 1984 to 1991.

Return to Democracy

The Sovereign National Conference held in Brazzaville from February to May 1991 established a transition period and the head of the Brazzaville Mayor was appointed administratively:

  • Gabriel OBONGUI: from 1991 to 1992;
  • Jean Clement MAMPOUYA: from 1992 to 1993 on an interim basis;
  • Remi Alain BAKU: from 1993 to 1994;
  • André BAKALA in 1994 on an interim basis.

Democratic elections in 1992 will put an end in 1994 to the transition period in the Municipality of Brazzaville. Thus, from 1994 to 1997, the Brazzaville Municipal Council was managed by three members:

  • Chairman of the Council, Mayor of the City: Bernard Kolelas.
  • Vice President: Joseph YANGUISSA.
  • Secretary: François ADZABI.

After the war of June 5, 1997, President Denis Sassou Nguesso, again at the head of the highest office in Brazzaville, will appoint a Mayor, assisted by two deputies from 1997-1999. :

  • Aimé Emmanuel YOKA: Mayor;
  • SENGA Bidie: Assistant 1;
  • Ida Victorine NGAMPOLO: 2nd Assistant.

In May 1999, another director will succeed him, also attended two by two Deputy Mayors from 1999 to 2002.

  • Benedict Moundele-NGOLLO: Mayor;
  • Ida Victorine NGAMPOLO: 1st Assistant;
  • Enock Ngoma: 2nd Assistant.

Democratic elections in 2002 will lead to the installation of a local Municipal Council in February 2003. The Municipal Council elected in turn an office of five (5) members, reinforced by the 11-2003 Act of 6 February 2003:

  • Hugues Ngouelondélé: Chairman of the Municipal Council, Deputy Mayor of Brazzaville;
  • Enock Ngoma: First Vice-President, First Deputy Mayor;
  • Solange born Kamara DENDE: 2nd Vice President, 2nd Deputy Mayor;
  • Pierre MALANDA: 2nd Secretary.